Stephanie Bangoura

Stephanie Bangoura is a dancer, dance instructor and gestalt therapist. She leads the Bangoura Group and is the founder of the Tanz der Kulturen collective. For over 20 years, Stephanie has worked primarily with African forms of dance and taught them in various contexts. Whether as a performer or lecturer in Salvador, Havana, New York and Paris, or as a therapist in Hamburg, Stephanie understands dance as an ‘art of relationships’ in the sense of philosopher Martin Buber.

Since her youth, Bangoura has had an interest in the socio-political and spiritual backgrounds of African-inspired dances and has been looking for ways to experience their community-building aspect. Together with master drummer Cheikhou, Bangoura designed and led a four-year long cultural exchange visit for German dancers in Senegal. With dancer Moni Ahoulou, she founded a German-African performance group in Munich in 1995. In 2011, she completed a master’s degree in the performing arts at the Federal University of Bahia in Brazil and received a scholarship from the Brasilian ministry of science (Ministério da Ciência, Tecnologia, Inovações e Comunicaçõesdes). Since then, she has been working on the theoretical basis of a holistic dance education which draws from African musical traditions and examines, exposes and transforms ethnic stereotypes. Her publication, Die Bangoura-Methode: Die Kunst, Gemeinschaft zu tanzen will be published in Autumn 2018.

In collaboration with Frank Händeler, artistic leader of the ÜberBrücken collective, Stephanie has led integrative dance theatre projects for refugee youths and educationally disadvantaged people in Brazil and in Germany. She is currently holding talks with various universities and training institutions in Europe, Africa and Latin America. As part of the EU-funded Erasmus projects, she is working on an interdisciplinary exchange between experts and practioners from the fields of performing arts, therapy any education. Stephanie possesses very good language skills in German, English, French and Portuguese as well as basic knowledge of Spanish, Italian and Wolof.

Stephanie Bangoura

Stephanie Bangoura ist Tänzerin, Gestalttherapeutin und Pädagogin. Als künstlerische Leitung der Bangoura Group und Gründerin des Vereins Tanz der Kulturen konzipiert sie Tanzevents mit Livemusik, verschiedene Seminarformate und Ausbildungen, um Tanz als Heilkunst vielen Menschen zugänglich werden zu lassen. Seit über 20 Jahren arbeitet Stephanie hauptberuflich mit afrikanischen Tanzformen und lehrt diese in unterschiedlichen Zusammenhängen. Sei es als Performerin oder Dozentin in Salvador, Havanna, New York und Paris, oder als Therapeutin in Hamburg – Stephanie versteht Tanz im Sinne des Philosophen Martin Bubers als eine „Kunst zwischen Dir und mir”, in der „der Mensch am Du zum Ich wird“.

Seit ihrer Jugend interessierte sich Bangoura für die sozialpolitischen und spirituellen Hintergründe afrikanisch inspirierter Tänze und suchte nach Wegen, deren gemeinschaftsbildende Dimension zu leben. Zusammen mit Master Trommler Cheikhou Bangoura konzipierte und führte sie vier Jahre lang Kulturaustauschaufenthalte für deutsche Tänzer im Senegal durch. Mit der Tänzerin Moni Ahoulou gründete sie 1995 eine deutsch-afrikanische Performancegruppe in München. 2011 schloss sie als Stipendiatin des CNPq (Ministério da Ciência, Tecnologia, Inovações e Comunicaçõesdes) ein Studium der Performancekunst an der Staatlichen Universität von Salvador de Bahia/Brasilien mit einem Master ab. Seitdem arbeitet sie am theoretischen Fundament einer ganzheitlichen Tanzpädagogik, die aus afrikanischen Musiktraditionen schöpft und folkloristische Stereotypen hinterfragt, aufdeckt und transformiert. Ihre Publikation „Die Bangoura-Methode: Die Kunst Gemeinschaft zu tanzen“ wird im Herbst 2018 erscheinen.

Mit Frank Händeler, künstlerischer Leiter des Kollektivs ÜberBrücken, veranstaltet Stephanie integrative Tanztheaterprojekte für geflüchtete Jugendliche und bildungsbenachteiligte Menschen in Brasilien und Deutschland. Derzeit steht sie im Dialog mit verschiedenen Universitäten und Ausbildungsinstituten in Europa, Afrika und Lateinamerika. Im Rahmen von EU geförderten Erasmus-Projekten arbeitet die Tänzerin an einem interdisziplinären Austausch zwischen AkteurInnen aus Darstellender Kunst, Therapie und Pädagogik. Stephanie verfügt über sehr gute Sprachkenntnisse in Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch und Portugiesisch sowie über Grundkenntnisse in Spanisch, Italienisch und Wolof.